Family Roots

This table was inspired by all the old black and white photos that my mom has collected of our family over the years.  While some are from her childhood, others are older than her, pictures of my grandparents when they were young, my grandfathers Air Force pictures from the Korean War and childhood moments of my mother and her siblings.  They are so much fun to look at and each has a story.  I thought this was a great way to showcase the pictures for a family dinner with all of our relatives….

 

 

 

  

 

This may be one of my favorite tables yet!  I took a simple house plant, seperated into smaller pieces and replanted into small glass bowls.  To give my table some height I put the bowls on top of everyday household wine glasses turned upside down.  Also one tall cylinder with bulbs adds to the natural family roots theme.  I really wanted the photos to be showcased so by all the centerpieces being clear on the bottom every photo is visible.  The clear containers also emphasize the great plants!  I added a pop of color with individually planted daffodils which became favors after the dinner was over.  The last touch was a photo with meaning for each setting and a bottle with simple white button mums. 

The best part of the table is that most of the materials can be found around the house…so it won’t break your bank!  My family can’t stop talking about the table, pictures and all the fun stories shared over this table.

Hopefully this inspired you to use those old family photos.

Until next time!

Simplicity

Photos taken by  The Maine Tinker

Event Design by Simplicity Event Designs

Leave a Reply

